Look out for #149

#149 is my new lucky number! Last Saturday I found out I’ve been allocated that number, so I’ll be rocking one of the bad boys below with number 149.

13668649_1015851648484703_3734164990268707542_o

Photo courtesy of the Transcontinental race FB page

From Friday 10pm, you can start following dot #149 on www.transcontinental.cc to see my progress. I will also try to write short daily updates on this blog. For those new to the concept, remember it’s a self-supported bike race. This means:

  • No navigational help, f.e. when you think I’m going the wrong way, you can’t let me know. I have to figure it out myself.
  • No help with finding accommodations, bike shops, anything like that.
  • If anyone had any crazy plans to come cheer my on en route, no resupply of drinks, food or materials and don’t let me draft in your wheel. It’s encouraged by Mike and Anna to have any supporters come to one of the checkpoints, instead of anywhere else along the way.

Well, I think you get the point. Just trust that I’ll be fine, because I will be. There’s a couple of things you can do:

  • Your cheers and (mental) support are very welcome. Drop me a line on Facebook or on this blog.
  • Feel free to share this page with others. I’ve been getting a lot of love from the most unexpected corners, which made me a bit shy, but I also liked it.  🙂
  • I often get songs – or just 2 or 3 lines of them actually – stuck in my head while riding. Different song suggestions to sing in my head are very welcome, to have some variation. It helps if I know the song.
  • If I end up calling you to say that I want to give up, do not let me! Unless I’m physically hurt, or I have another really really really plausible reason to quit, please tell me to woman the F*** up, maybe have a good night rest, and continue the next morning. Dont fall for my act of emotional trainwreck. If you fear that you will, just hang up.

I don’t think that this situation will occur, I’m usually quite good at kicking myself in the butt. And I’m not even exactly sure if an act of tough love like that is really allowed, but it’s still important to me that you understand how I feel about it.


As for preparation, I’m doing quite OK. All my pre-race vaccination are done and I’ve stopped training by now, to be as rested as I can when I leave. My kit is near complete, except for some minor things I need to get at the store. I thought I’d go mad with nerves by this time, but so far so good. Spare time is spent doing some last minute route checking, and when you get to look at these kinds of streetviews, you can only start looking forward to it.

Streetview.jpg

CP3/Passo Giau with a couple of struggling cyclists.

4 more days!

3 gedachtes over “Look out for #149

  1. he louise,

    kan jij deze bejaarde even vertellen hoe nu verder… krijg ik nu automatisch je blogpost per mail of moet ik actief op het net je gaan volgen….?

    Voor nu go go go goooooooo, en mijn song bijdrage is…

    DAVID BOWIE (ja ja ik weet een oude man die er al niet meer is)

    I, I will be king And you, you will be queen Though nothing, will drive them away We can beat them, just for one day We can be heroes, just for one day

    Van HEROES… ik vind je nu al een held(in)!

    succes,es

    PS ik ga je in ieder geval volgen op:

    http://www.transcontinental.cc

    Transcontinental Race – Gallipoli http://www.transcontinental.cc Start // Muur Kapelmuur // 10pm Friday 29th July 2016. Control 1 // Clermont Ferrand / Puy de Dome. Control 2 // Grindelwald / Grosse Scheidegg / Grimselpass / Furkapass

    enb

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. Yes, you go Lou! Ik heb het volste vertouwen. Neil Young doet het altijd goed op de fiets (´I wanna liiiive´.. en ´been through the desert on a horse with no name´ (eerste en tweede stem). Ik ken dat met die paar zinnetjes, ik heb het ook tijden het skaten 🙂 succes met de laatste daagjes!

    Like

  3. Nummer 149, ik ga je volgen!! Weet zeker dat je het mentaal gaat volhouden, en zo niet dan kun je altijd nog deze liedjes in je hoofd meezingen (luister ik zelf vaak als ik me down voel):
    – Dancing in the moonlight (‘Everybody’s feelin’ warm and right, It’s such a fine and natural sight, Everybody’s dancin’ in the moonlight’ als dit niet helpt weet ik het ook niet meer)
    – Sing it back (‘ Bring it back, sing it back’ als je heel moe bent is dit waarschijnlijk het meest simpele refrein ooit)
    – Alane van Wes (je weet wel, die jaren 90 hit) Niet geschikt om mee te zingen, aangezien niemand weet in welke taal dit gezongen wordt. Gelukkig je dan altijd nog de vernederlandste versie meezingen, zie https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ThXbMhW7cw

    Heeeel veel succes en ik ga je natuurlijk volgen!!

    Like

Geef een reactie

