Day 3 – Ennezat

Today was a bit of a ‘hanging in there’ kind of day. Although yesterday’s ride was tough, the scenery kept the morale up all day. Today was a bit different. I woke up realizing the deterioration of my body, and was a bit worried about how quickly it was going. We’re only on day 3 and my knee was stiff, I lost any sensation in two fingers of my left hand and my saddle sores were rearing their ugly heads. Nothing to seriously worry about, but they do create a lot of discomfort. (Oh the joy of sitting back on a saddle with saddle sores. Oh the fun to need four fingers to try and shift)

Puy de dome, also known as not-CP1. We had to climb to Col de Ceyssart at the bottom.


What was good today was that CP1 would be a certainty, and even while the checkpoint was still open. What was also good today was running into other riders (pair #207, I think their names were George and Abby? And #29 Franziska) and spend some time with people who understand what you’re going through. 

Despite our joined breakfast together, I found it hard to fully enjoy the day. I was very unimpressed by the road from Moulins to Clermont-Ferrant. The road was both busy and boring, and the tarmac was the kind that set my butt on fire. So to make it a bit more interesting, I tried to push for an arrival at CP1 by noon. It wasn’t to be though, traffic and red lights made for poor progress and then I even managed to pass the checkpoint at first, having to back track 2,5km. 2,5km is nothing in the grand scheme of things, but I could’ve done without. Also, my knee decided that I pushed too hard that morning, so CP1 turned out to be a very short break, so I could go to a pharmacy.

The hotel was all out of coke, thanks to everyone who came in before me. I call that bad preparation.


Then it was time for the parcour, I had to climb the Col de Ceyssart. It took me a lot longer than I’d like to admit. A double Ibuprofen and a lot of Voltaren hardly helped to ease the pain, but that was only part of it. I started worrying about how the hell I would survive Switzerland if I could hardly even manage this. Then I started looking at all those parapenters at the top of the Puy de Dome, thinking they were having so much more fun than I. I just wasn’t in a good place. But thanks to a couple stops, I still made it to the top and had a chat with Louise and Peter there. 

Then I descended, found a Carrefour and had a parking spot lunch/dinner, checked the route and decided to see if I could make it to Vichy tonight. It started promising, the D road was actually flat, had a real designated bike lane and progress was good. But then the side wind came out to play and I was just DONE. Navigated to the nearest hotel, now ready to thoroughly was myself and the kit. Tomorrow another day!

3 gedachtes over “Day 3 – Ennezat

  1. Lieve Lou, Checkpoint 1 in the pocket! Maar pas wel goed op jezelf en koop iets om je knie te verstevigen. Volgens mij moet je hier even doorheen, dan wordt het vanzelf beter en ben je in de bikkel-fiets-modus aangekomen. Kus en knuffel!

    Like

Geef een reactie

